AO Gear:  Sarge & 1x12 Cabinet   Credits

AO Gear: Sarge & 1x12 Cabinet


Marshall Altman
Galt Line Studio

Marshall Altman began his music career in the mid-90’s fronting the West Coast rock band Farmer, which was subsequently signed to Aware Records. After several US tours, Marshall found himself drawn more to developing and recording new artists rather than pursuing his own recording career. After a series of recordings with Citizen Cope (resulting in Citizen Cope’s signing on to Capitol Records), Marshall transitioned into the world of A&R – first at Capitol Records then Hollywood Records and finally Columbia Records, where his last two projects as an A & R person were Katy Perry and OneRepublic.

Despite his successes inside the label system, the desire for unbridled creativity was too great and in 2005, he left Columbia Records and embarked on a full time career as a writer/producer. 

Marshall founded the label Galt Line Music in 2007, and has released albums in partnership with such critically acclaimed artists as Matt Nathanson, William Fitzsimmons, Rosi Golan, Matt Duke, Nick Sturms, and Tim Montana & The Shrednecks, among others.

In the first quarter of 2010, Altman had a #1 hit in the UK from his co-write “Parachute” (with Ingrid Michaelson) for British pop sensation Cheryl Cole’s debut solo album, 3 Words, which hit the top of the charts in the UK, Ireland, Australia, and New Zealand from the same album.

 2013 & 2014 were breakout years for Marshall having produced 3 #1 singles collectively for Frankie Ballard (“Helluva Life” and “Sunshine & Whiskey”) and Eric Paslay (“Friday Night”) and producing Will Hoge’s critically acclaimed album Small Town Dreams. In 2015 Marshall returned to the studio with Frankie and Eric to record their follow up albums and also saw a 4th song go #1 at Country Radio with Frankie Ballard’s “Young & Crazy”. These successes come on the heels of producing Amy Grant’s critically acclaimed album, How Mercy Looks From Here, which was her first album in twelve years.

His production credits include: Amy Grant, Eric Paslay, Frankie Ballard, Matt Nathanson’s Some Mad Hope (three platinum singles, including “All We Are,” which he co-wrote), Marc Broussard’s definitive album Carencro (on which Marshall co-wrote Marc’s career defining song, “Home”), Brooke Fraser (Albertine), Audrey Assad, Will Hoge, Gabe Dixon, Kate Voegele (platinum single), William Fitzsimmons (iTunes singer/songwriter album of the year in US and Australia), The Almost, Walker Hayes, Rosi Golan (50+ TV licenses), Adema, Matt Wertz, Trevor Hall, Caitlin Crosby, Kim Caldwell, Tom Morello, and many more.